Porsche Hoping To Win The 12 Hours Of Sebring Again

A year after Porsche won the prestigious 12 Hours of Sebring race in the inaugural 2014 United SportsCar Championship season, the automaker is hoping to go back and do it again for 2015.

The Sebring International Raceway road course in Florida is perhaps among the most storied and challenging courses in the United States, having hosted its first race back in 1950. Porsche has had more success at this course than any other automaker, having won the 12 Hours of Sebring outright an astonishing 18 times, with 67 class wins.

This year, Porsche’s own #911 and #912 Porsche 911 RSR racing cars will be in the running at the 2015 12 Hours of Sebring, the first being piloted by factory drivers Patrick Pilet of France, Richard Lietz of Austria, and Nick Tandy of Great Britain. The #912 car will be driven by Earl Bamber of New Zealand, Frédéric Makowiecki of France, and one of last year’s class winning drivers, Jörg Bergmeister of Germany.

In addition, Team Falken Tire will be fielding a third Porsche 911 RSR with Wolf Henzler (Germany) and Patrick Long (USA) at the helm, with support from Bryan Sellers (USA).

The 2015 12 Hours of Sebring takes place tomorrow, March 21st, at 10:15 am Eastern Time, so best start settling into your couch now.

Aaron Birch is an automotive enthusiast and writer/filmmaker from Detroit, MI. As a rule, he only buys cars older than himself.

No Comments yet

Leave a comment