Rhys Millen Makes History With Overall Win In Electric Racer At Pikes Peak

In the 99th edition of the Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb, electrically propelled race cars dominated the hill, with Rhys Millen clocking a time of 9:07.222 up the mountain in his electric Drive eO PP03 to take the overall win. The time is a record for electric racecars up the time trial course and makes Millen the first person to win the event overall in an electric car.

Millen wasn’t without competition at Pikes Peak this year. Japan’s Nobuhiro ‘Monster’ Tajima, a legend in the hill climb racing world, was also looking to take the overall victory this past weekend in an electric car. The veteran driver was second behind Millen in his Tajima Motor E-RUNNER Concept1 with a time of 9.32.401, which he set not long after his 65th birthday.

The fastest gas powered run of the day was from Paul Dallenbach in his PPC open wheel car, posting a time of 9.36.496, a record for open wheel cars. He beat out the next closest competitor by over 10 second, Jeff Zwart in his modified Porsche 911 GT3.

Click here for full results from the 2015 Pikes Peak International Hill Climb.

No Comments yet

Leave a comment